Final Week of Freedom

I’ve actually just finished my first week of work (which I’ll share more about later), but first I wanted to post some photos from my last week before I headed back to the 9-5 world…

I make poor Alex (BF) take all the photos you see of me alone. I do ask him to be in the photo with me, but he deplores having his photo taken, thus I’m often the lone tourist.

This is outside Liberty of London. If you are not familiar with their prints, do your eyes a favor and explore now! Aside from their fabrics, the Tudor style exteriors and interiors are gorgeous. London does department stores better than anywhere else, I’ll take you ’round other department stores another time.

This photo was taken outside of Somerset House, off The Strand. Look familiar Christmas lovers? It turns into an iceskating rink over the holidays and was featured in Love Actually. Somerset House is also home to the Courtauld Gallery, it is one of the best places to see art in London.

The Courtauld Gallery – Manet, Manet, Degas

London is certainly not short on beautiful churches, this one sits on bustling High Street Kensington. Even though I am not particularly religious (I don’t even know what that means), there is something very peaceful and serene about these ancient churches that have found themselves encroached by the metropolis.

Obligatory iPhone self-portrait – Outside Kensington Palace

Fancy a night at the theater? There are so many shows on at the West End, take your pick. Singin’ in the Rain is one of my favorite films; this revival got rave reviews, it’s on my list.

No day out in London is complete without a little rain, wind and fog.

I know it’s a moody shot, but London can often be melancholy, which is one of the things I love about the city.

Taking the Underground home and minding the gap.

Samuel Johnson* said, “Why, Sir, you find no man, at all intellectual, who is willing to leave London. No, Sir, when a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.” Indeed. The only thing that has me tired is thinking of all there is to do.

*Nerd Fact: Samuel Johnson is best remembered for his work, A Dictionary of the English Language. Until Oxford’s Dictionary came along it was the most comprehensive. Keep that in your back pocket for trivia night.

Leave a Reply

